Introducing Albarrojo

I first met Albarrojo one hot windswept afternoon while I was sitting alone on the wall of the Malecón in Havana, close to the Castillo de San Salvador de la Punta. I wasn’t expecting him. In fact I was waiting for someone else entirely who never arrived. But with a rush he came upon me as I watched the waves crashing over the rocks.

Since then, he has become a part of my life. Disappearing for periods of time only to suddenly reappear with new stories of his vagabond existence as it took him to other times and places. Or leaving messages for me to find and interpret, decoding his ranting thoughts.

In The White Maroon, alongside details of my own work – my writing, research and forrays into acting – I will post reports, transcribed from the muddle of his words to me, sharing his explorations and journeys through time and space.

Leave a Reply

